Whatever Comes Next
Whatever Comes Next with Tom Osman
Episode 19: Fabien W. Furter (Death Whore, Wheelfall)
0:00
-1:41:58

Episode 19: Fabien W. Furter (Death Whore, Wheelfall)

Frontman, vocalist, guitarist and label owner Fabien W. Furter discusses his various projects past and present, musical and lyrical inspiration and why Steve Albini is so important for DIY music.

Although Fabien W. Furter didn’t know it before our interview, both he and Steve Albini are significant to the genesis of this podcast.

Before starting Whatever Comes Next I decided that I’m going to write a book about DIY music making.

Part of my initial idea was to spend some time with several people involved in DIY music scenes around the world. When I was thinking of who would be great subjects for this project, Fabien was one of the first people I thought of.

As well as being a great admirer of his music (from both former band Wheelfall and current band Death Whore), I value Fabien’s experience as an independent-label owner (No Good To Anyone Productions). In all aspects he’s pure DIY and so exactly the right kind of person for me to talk to.

Add to that, I think he has great taste in music (not to mention Wheelfall’s 2015 album Glasrew Point being a fantastic musical statement that I never tire of).

But what about Steve Albini?

Well, another part of my book idea was that I would add a personal dimension to the book. As well as gathering insights from the various subjects, there would be a thread running through the book of my own personal creative journey. Specifically to go to Chicago and record with Albini.

Sadly, that last part can’t ever happen now, following his sudden death last week.

But perhaps now more than ever, with Albini no longer being with us, it’s time for all those who he inspired to follow the example he set and pursue their own DIY musical projects with honestly, authenticity and commitment.

I guess I have no excuse now. So up up and away we go.

Thanks for reading (and listening) to Whatever Comes Next. Subscribe for free and relentlessly pester me to write this book, until I do it.

0 Comments
Whatever Comes Next
Whatever Comes Next with Tom Osman
On Whatever Comes Next I explore the world of independent and underground music making. I talk with music makers, producers and label owners to hear their stories. I like music with a sense of mystery. I like surprises and unique stories... and noise... and weirdness... and darkness... and I want to learn more.